The North Texas Area

Chalice_105h.jpgThe Area is part of the Southwest Region of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), which has as its vision "to be a faithful, growing church that demonstrates true community, deep Christian spirituality and a passion for justice" (Micah 6:8).

The North Texas Area of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the Southwest exists to serve the Disciples of Christ congregations in the Texas counties of Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, and Rockwall.

The Area serves these congregations by:

  • assisting them in their mission of witness and service;
  • seeking ways to help them in revitalization and transformation;
  • maintaining diversity in unity as each congregation shares unique ministry and concerns;
  • establishing new congregations to further our common witness;
  • supporting and nurturing those who serve the congregations;
  • encouraging and training present and future leaders;
  • encouraging participation in the ecumenical community;
  • striving in all ways to bring glory to God our Creator, made known to us through Jesus the Christ, our Lord and Savior; and
  • proclaiming enthusiastically the Good News of God to all persons.

The North Texas Area is one of eight Area Ministries of the Christan Church (Disciples of Christ) in the Southwest.